Test Maturity Model

What is the Test Maturity Model?

Test Maturity Model is based on the capability maturity model specified in increasing the series of levels of a software development organization. The higher the level, the better the software development process. Hence, reaching each level is an expensive and time-consuming process.

Test Maturity Model describes the process of testing and is related to monitoring the quality of software testing model.
  • It is the first developed by the Illinois Institute of Technology. The full form of TMM is the Test Maturity Model. It is a detailed model for test process improvement. Also, we may complement it with any process improvement model or we can use it as a STANDALONE model.
  • It contains levels through which an organization passes its testing process, which evolves from one that is ad hoc and unmanaged to one that is managed, defined, measured, and in optimization mode, see figure 1 below.
  • Achieving each level ensures that adequate improvement has been laid as a foundation for the next stage.
  • Moving through the different maturity levels increases the capability of test and software quality management to align with the needs of the business or project.
  • The benefits being, among others, improved software product quality with fewer defects.

TMM model has major two components:

  1. A set of 5 levels that define testing capability
  2. An Assessment Model

5 Different Levels of Maturity Model

The five levels of the TMM helps the organization to determine the maturity of its process and to identify the next improvement steps that are essential to achieving a higher level of test maturity.

Level One: Initial

We characterize the software process as inconsistent, and occasionally even chaotic. Defined processes and standard practices that exist are abandoned during a crisis. The success of the organization majorly depends on individual effort, talent, and heroics. The heroes eventually move on to other organizations taking their wealth of knowledge or lessons learned from them.

Level Two: Repeatable

This level of Software Development Organization has a basic and consistent project management process to track the cost, schedule, and functionality. The process is in place to repeat the earlier success projects with similar applications. Program management is a vital characteristic of a level two organization.

Level Three: Define

The software process for both management and engineering activities is documented, standard, and integrated into a standard software process. This is for the entire organization and all projects across the organization to use as an approval, tailored version of the organization’s standard software process for developing, testing and maintaining the application.

Level Four: Manage

Management can effectively control the software development effort using precise measurements. At this level, the organization set a quantitative quality goal for both software process and software maintenance. At this maturity level, one controls the performance of processing by using statistical and other quantitative techniques. Also, it is quantitatively predictable.

Level Five: Optimising

The key’s characteristic of this level is focusing on continually improving process performance through both incremental and innovative technological improvements. At this level, changes to the process are to improve the process performance. At the same time, maintaining statistical probability to achieve the established quantitative process-improvement objectives.


Software maintenance is expensive and time-consuming when you identify defects after project delivery. Consequently, while detecting defects is essential, it is also necessary that the software makes minimum errors during the development phase. A standard testing process like TMM can help to achieve this. The design of TMM is especially to address testing can help the organization to improve the maturity of their testing practices.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *